Helium 12.4 beta 2 now available!

Welcome to a new beta version of Helium 12.4.

12.4.2.png

Major improvements in this version

  • Major improvements to memory consumption and removal of memory leaks. This leads indirectly to performance improvements.
  • New Ogg vorbis reader and writer. The new version of this file format reader fully supports segmented Ogg vorbis files
  • Possibility to use Genre style grouping in Genres view. Genres can be grouped as childs to a genre style using the Manage genres tool. Full support in smart playlists and advanced searches
  • Possibility to set descriptive names for rename templates to more easily identify specific rename templates
  • Copy tags tool which allows copying and transcoding of tags from one format to another, for multiple files
  • Conductor column available in track lists
  • Original year column available in track lists
  • Various user interface improvements and fixes
  • When renaming files and a file with the destination filename exists with another extension, it is shown with yellow background
  • Tracks sorting applied to My Computer view
  • When adding a file with subtracks, gain values for the master track are “pushed” to the subtracks
  • When calculating gain for a file with subtracks, resulting gain values are “pushed” to the subtracks
  • When adding files, recording year is no longer used to set release year, if release year does not exists

Minor improvements and bug fixes in this version

  • Lock function in Advanced Tag Editor works properly with “delta changes” logic
  • Corrections to saving of Conductor field from the Tag Editor
  • Minor corrections and improvements to the Duplicate finder
  • Views are lazily instansiated to reduce memory consumption
  • Cancellation improvements for Convert files and Split files tools
  • Improvements and bug fixes for updating of album, artist and label images
  • Drag to reorder improvements for Playlists
  • Corrected tooltips on label items
  • Visual drag indicators properly shown when using drag to reorder in track lists
  • Corrections to Tag editor, switch command
  • Corrections when adding tracks with same length in the Split tool
  • Bugs fixes related to removal of files from a root path
  • Bug fixes related to setting of release type
  • When renaming a file with subtracks, subtracks are properly updated with the resulting filename
  • Corrections when using “Start withs” argument for textual fields in Advanced search/Smart playlists
  • Corrections when playing next/previous subtrack
  • Proper data is used when using the rename tools on subtracks
  • Position slider corrections when replaying a subtrack
  • Ratings are no longer changed when working with scripts against files that does not exist in the Library
  • Updates to several components

Working with the beta version

Please note that this is a beta version meaning that all tools and features are not 100% tested.

This beta version will NOT install into a specific beta folder, instead it will upgrade your existing Helium 12 installation and you can continue to use your settings without the need of cloning them.

If you find any bugs or such with this release, click here to let us know!

Click here to download this beta version of Helium 12.4 beta 2

3 thoughts on “Helium 12.4 beta 2 now available!

  1. Mikael

    I have been using Helium for quite a long time. I do not know when I “met” Helium, but I liked it from the beginning. I do know that my files are still stored under Helium Music Manger 7 — so that gives you an idea of at least how long I have been with you. I now have over 50,000 tracks in Helium.

    I HATE Helium 12. I do not like the dark look of it. It is not responsive. I cannot find how to customize the User Defined Nodes — it is so simple in HMM 11 AND my prior customizations did not carry over int to HMM 12. There may be some things “under the hood” that are better, but I cannot see them.

    Fortunately, I still have HMM 11 running and am using it. It is responsive, it is fairly easy to customize — to the extent I need customization (and since my collection is about 90% classical and the program is written for rock and hip-hop etc I require a good deal of customization BUT I can do it in HMM 11). Also, I do not like to read white on black. I suggest an option so if one wants to get ride of the black background and have a white one, it could be done. And PLEASE tell me how to customize a User Defined Node.

    I am sticking with you in the hope that HMM 12 will finally turn out to be as good a program as HMM 11. But I’ve not seen it moving that way.

    You asked for a comment. I hope you regard this one as constructive. And I probably would say that HMM 12 is better than anything else out there (but I will be looking) EXCEPT HMM 11.

    Like

    1. Hi Richard,

      sorry if this sounds rude, but did you actually have a look into the options?

      >> Also, I do not like to read white on black. I suggest an option so if one wants to get ride of
      >> the black background and have a white one, it could be done.
      Options->Visual->Theme->Use light theme

      >> And PLEASE tell me how to customize a User Defined Node.
      Options->Custom fields, columns & release types->Music explorer user defined names
      (OK, this one is harder to find, since the page name does not match anymore…)

      >> to the extent I need customization (and since my collection is about 90% classical and
      >> the program is written for rock and hip-hop etc I require a good deal of customization
      If you’ll give a little more information about what you need to customize, I’m pretty sure the guys of Imploded Software will do as much as possible to help. 😉

      Kind regards,
      Sven Matzerath

      Like

  2. @Richard: If you have any specific questions to me, please contact me over email. Unfortunately I do not recognize your name, despite you have been long time user.
    Just as Sven says, please take a look in Options, you will find some answers there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

